Home Page

Ightenhill Primary School

"To be the best that we can be"

Meet the Governors


The Governing body has a general responsibility for seeing the school run effectively.  They have legal duties, powers and responsibilities and offer assistance to the Headteacher who is responsible for the day to day management of the school.  The full Governing Body meets once every term.  It is made up of people from the local community, parents, the Headteacher and school staff.  

The Governing Body

Mrs Jean Stuttard  -  Chair of Governors
Ms Kerrie Anne McHale -  Parent Governor
Mrs Joanne Cromack -  Parent Governor
Mr Craig Atherton  -  Parent Governor

 Mrs Mechelle Lewis  -  Staff Governor
 Mrs Kathryn Marney  -  Headteacher
 Mrs Kathryn Dunderdale  -  Deputy Headteacher
 Miss Janet Egar  -  Co-opted Governor
 Mr Robert Whitaker  -  Co-opted Governor
 Mrs Paula Mason  -  Community Governor
 Mr Nigel Battersby  -  Community Governor
 Mrs Barbara Hudson  -  Community Governor
Mr Stephen Grimshaw  -  Community Governor


Next meeting dates:


Tuesday 6th February 2018 Standards & Effectiveness 4.15pm

Tuesday 20th March 2018 Full Governing Body 4.15pm

Tuesday 1st May 2018 Curriculum 4.15pm

Tuesday 1st May 2018 Resources 5.30pm

Tuesday 15th May 2018 Standards & Effectiveness 4.15pm

Tuesday 26th June 2018 Full Governing Body 4.15pm


Governor Pen Portraits


Stephen Grimshaw (Co-opted Governor)

I became a school governor at Ightenhill after I retired from teaching.  Having been a high school teacher for nearly thirty years, I felt I should do something worthwhile in my retirement and give something back to the local community.


Knowing how difficult it is to run a school today, I thought that my experience in both the classroom and in middle management would come in useful at Igthenhill.


I believe that Ightenhill is a very successful school and that all the staff and governors are working very hard to ensure that this continues to be true.


Jean Stuttard (Chair of Governors)

Awaiting information


Craig Atherton (Parent Governor)

Awaiting information


Janet Egar (Community Governor)

Awaiting information


Nigel Battersby (Community Governor)

Awaiting information


Barbara Hudson (Community Governor)

I am a retired teacher.  I worked in local secondary schools supporting pupils with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities in mainstream classes.  I enjoyed my work as so I was keen to become involved in a local school. 


I live in the area and Ightenhill is important to me because it is where I attended for my primary education and is where my grandchildren attend. 


I have a good record of attendance at all meetings and I particularly enjoy coming into school for the curriculum 'walk rounds'.  These enable governors to observe classes and the work of the pupils and staff.  As a governor, my areas of responsibility cover S.E.N.D. and English.  I am also a member of the curriculum committee.


Robert Whitaker (Community Governor)

I am a co-opted governor who was appointed in 2012.  I first became involved with Ightenhill as a tutor supporting trainee teachers who were placed within the school for teaching practice.  Before becoming a tutor, I was the headteacher of a Lancashire special school for 14 years.  At present I am the chairperson of the governors Standards and Effectiveness Committee and a member of the Finance, Staffing and Buildings Committee. 


I attend most courses to fulfil my role and to keep in touch with the many changes that happen within schools.  I have no pecuniary or business interests or relations linked to the school.


Outside of education, my main interests are related to history and sports, in particular football and local Lancashire League cricket.  


Kerrie Anne McHale (Parent Governor)

Awaiting information


Joanne Cromack (Parent Governor)

Awaiting information



Please see below documentation for committee structure, declaration of interest and attendance register

Instrument Of Government