Ightenhill Primary School

To be the best that we can be.

About Ightenhill

Our aim is to provide creative opportunities for all children to learn and to achieve. We provide quality experiences in all aspects of school life ensuring that children are happy, successful and keen to learn.

Within the primary school, the curriculum is taught in three key stages:

  • Foundation Stage - up to 5 years
  • Key Stage 1 - from 5-7 years
  • Key Stage 2 - from 8-11 years



The children in the reception class follow the EYFS Curriculum. This is a play-based curriculum set within different areas of learning:



  • ​Communication and Language, Physical Development, Personal and Social Education




  • Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive arts.
  • Children over five years old follow the National Curriculum.

Areas of the Curriculum (5+)


  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music
  • Art
  • Design Technology
  • Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)
  • RE

The mornings at school are dedicated to maths and English and ensuring our children leave us as literate and numerate young people. We teach the rest of the National Curriculum using a cross curricula, skills-based approach making meaningful links between subjects to form ‘study units’. Our children tell us that this makes their learning “fun and much more enjoyable”.