Ightenhill Primary School

To be the best that we can be.

The Equality Act 2010 and Protected Characterstics

Ightenhill Primary is an inclusive school where all are welcome. We celebrate diversity and champion equality. Our School Community and everybody who enters our school is to behave in a way which respects the protected characteristics of the Equality Act 2010.




The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. 


The Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have.


Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:


  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


No form of discrimination is tolerated at Ightenhill Primary School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.


We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at our school.


Children are taught about the Equality Act and Protected Characteristics as part of the planned curriculum and through our school assemblies.